sometimes

Sometimes I disappear from my blog. Sorry. 

Sometimes I let awkward pictures pile up in my Photo Album. Cute. 

IMG_4780Sometimes luck finds me when I least expect it. Random.

IMG_4717Sometimes I let work stand in the way of my social life. Not this week. 

561778_10201683955363517_988192243_nSometimes I get tired and grumpy and just need time alone with my cat. Adorable.

IMG_4802Sometimes I get dressed up and don’t wear any makeup. Ironic.

IMG_4828Sometimes I wish my family was closer. Love.

IMG_4733Sometimes I just let go and let the universe guide me… 

…and sometimes the universe makes it very clear that it’s time for a change.

My life has become a constant routine. I’m spinning ’round and ’round in a world of work and sleep. That’s all. I don’t have the energy for anything else. The creativity and freedom inside of me has been suppressed and it’s itching to come back out. My social life has become almost non-existant and I don’t have the flexibility to do anything outside of my weekly ‘schedule’. It’s tough.

As humans, sometimes it’s necessary for us to push ourselves. We bite off more than we can chew, take on a massive work-load, and do things outside of our comfort-zones to prove that we can. There’s nothing wrong with that. In fact, it’s a vital part of growing up. Jobs, relationships, friendships…they all change as we get older. They become more serious and require more work. With each day that passes we learn what’s truly important and what isn’t worth stressing over. Then we’re able to take a step back and eliminate the things that are holding us back from our true bliss. 

What does this mean for me right now? I’m not exactly sure. I’m letting go of the reigns and opening up my heart and mind to what the universe is telling me to do. Being the control-freak that I am, it’s slightly unsettling…but, at the same time, it’s empowering. And I encourage you to do the same.

Here’s to knowing when it’s time for a change…

-Emily

18 comments
  1. Ooooh lalala….your friend ain’t half bad to look at! LOL
    Glad you’re learning what you need to do for you. It’s all a process and we find out so much about ourselves as we go through each day.

    • Emily said:

      Amen. I learn something new about myself every single day.
      And right?! Haha. He’s a cutie!

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you! You are too!

  2. Your selfies are so cute–I love the one with the crop top and maxi!

    I think one of the hardest things in life is finding a balance. We always want to strive for success, but it can make us unhappy if we aren’t taking time for ourselves as well.

    • Emily said:

      Exactly. Thanks, girly! ❤

  3. Meg said:

    oh girl, I love this post. I love all of your smiles and your beautiful words ❤ remember, I'm always a text away oh and I have a quote for you that I know you'll love…

    change = change

    🙂 that's written on the wall at GPP and I totally thought of you

    love you missy

  4. Meg said:

    did you get my comment? 😦

  5. Meg said:

    oh there it is 😀 I see it now 😉

  6. P said:

    You and your work uniform, adorable! Haha.
    I think it’s a great to know when at a personal level, it’s time for a change. No other human is going to tell you…in the end you make the choice. Props to you for knowing it’s time for a change in your life (:!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!
      And you’re so right. Only we can be the judge of when it’s time for a life change!

  7. Taylor said:

    Emily, I always feel like I can relate to what you are going through and really appreciate how open you are on your blog! I am a big believer in how good change is and know that eagerness to have it happen!
    I also love the maxi and cropped top 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Aw, I’m so glad. That’s honestly why I write this blog- because I hope that people can relate and we can all realize that we’re not alone.
      Thanks, lady ❤

  8. I’m mia a lot on my blog too. work and social life is more important to me. but since I’m throwing a bajillion on my site maybe I should be more willing to update. and who is that guy? cute. 😉 hahaha

  9. I used to have a work uniform that looked exactly like that! Haha. I also love how half of the comments are about how cute your friend (boyfriend?) is. 😛

    • Emily said:

      Lol! I know, it’s too funny. He’s totally just a friend though. (:

Leave a Reply

