summertime sweat

Hey, remember when I used to post exercise/healthy-living related posts every Friday? Yeah, that obviously hasn’t happened recently. In all honesty, exercise has been on the back-burner lately. Life is crazy and I took that as an opportunity to stop stressing about the gym. And it felt damn good.

In the past I’ve let my love for exercise get out of hand- almost to the point of an obsession. As it turns out, too much of a good thing can be bad. However, after taking time off and getting much more in-tune with my body, I think I’ve discovered a balance that works for me. It’s a good thing because I sure missed getting my butt over to the gym on a regular basis and I missed sharing workouts and advice with you all! I’m [finally] finishing up studying for my NASM Certification test and I can’t wait to get that behind me and start putting together a program- potentially for in-person AND online clients!

Since summertime is in full-swing, today I have a new total-body toning workout for you! It incorporates strength, plyometrics, and abs using very minimal equipment. All of the moves should be fairly self-explanatory but don’t hesitate to ask if you need clarification about something! Enjoy!

SummertimeSweatHere’s to sweating to live, not living to sweat…

-Emily

10 comments
  1. haha maybe you can give discount to poor people like me. I need to get off my butt more but I’m happy to say I’ve been working out more than usual which is good. 🙂 I’ve already saved your workout. 😉

    • Emily said:

      I totally will!
      When I get everything situated I’d love to come up with a plan for you (that you’ll enjoy!)
      I’m super proud of you for working out more than usual lately- especially with how busy you are!

  2. Ellie said:

    Why have you decided to get certified? What is your degree in? How’s Starucks treating you? I’m almost done with my coffee/bagel shop job. About to go home for a month before XC starts 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Well, I actually already have one certification but wanted to get my NASM one because it’s more well known and respected. My dad is a trainer and owns his own gym so I’ve always been surrounded by it. (:
      And YAY for going home for a month! Make the most of every minute that you have off!

  3. I completely understand the feeling of too much of a good thing ending up to be a bad thing, especially in terms of exercise. Like a lot of things, it is definitely all about balance. My favorite workouts always seem to bee the ones that incorporate both pylo and strength so I am liking this one! Plus you made it extremely cute and summery, love it. 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Let me know what you think if you try it! (:

  4. I love that you’ve found a balance with working out! I’m still working on not stressing out if I’m too busy to workout, and incorporating planned rest days, but I completely agree that it can become an obsession, and that’s when a healthy thing starts to be not so healthy.

  5. That’s awesome; such a positive way to challenge that energy! Congrats on nearly finishing the certification!

  6. I pinned this earlier this week when you posted it on Instagram and I cannot wait to try it at the gym tomorrow! I’m always looking for new strength routines to try out! This looks great.

Leave a Reply

