summer 2013 bucket list

If the calendar wasn’t a good enough clue that we’re in the heart of summer, the weather sure is. The temperatures in Southern California have been ridiculous over the past few days. I grew up where summer days averaged around 105 degrees so I haven’t been too phased by it but LA folks definitely aren’t accustomed to super high temps. Good thing it’ll be back down in the 80’s later this week.

My sister is gone now (boo!) but we had an amazing time together and I’m hoping she’ll be back down for another visit in the very near future. Last night we went and saw “This Is The End and went out to Mexican food for dinner. The movie was so-so (stupid but funny) and dinner was absolutely delicious.

IMG_4664All of the fun things that Lindsay and I did together got me thinking about how many other things I want to do before Summer is over. So, I finally created my Summer 2013 Bucket List! I’ve been meaning to make this since…um, April? Oops. Better late than never. I know a few items may seem silly and insignificant but I don’t care- sometimes the littlest things bring the biggest smiles. (:

IMG_4677I’m going to try to document each item (key word: try) and share the photos and stories with you along the way. Are there any fun things you want to do this summer? If so, I’d love to hear about them!

Here’s to sunshine & summertime…

-Emily

 

20 comments
  1. An average of 105? Gah! – I definitely wouldn’t be able to handle it. It was 90 here yesterday and even that had me feeling like I was going to die. But in my defense, I’m Canadian and we’re not meant to handle that kind of weather 😛

    I love your bucket list, and I love that you included some more simple things – little things like that definitely add up to big smiles. I haven’t really made any sort of bucket list, but one thing I’d love to do is go for a picnic…

    • Emily said:

      That’s so true! I can’t handle the cold that you guys deal with though…When it gets below 40 I kind of freak out. haha. Typical Californian!
      And thank you! A picnic actually sounds amazing- I may have to add that to my list. (:

    • Emily said:

      Really?! Oh my goodness- how weird! I’ll definitely send over some sunshine to you!

  2. P said:

    Nor Cal has been a scorcher for the past week now, so I can relate. People have been trying to escape to the Bay, but with the BART craziness, I don’t think too many have been successful 😛

    Love your bucket list!

  3. I love summer bucket lists! They are the most fun, I just made one myself!

    • Emily said:

      Yay! They’re so much fun to make. I just love summertime. (:

  4. 105? I can’t even imagine that! I was born in Phoenix and I would love to live there again someday, but I was only there for a couple of years so I don’t remember much about the heat, only that it was in the triple digits most days in the summer. We’ve been having some weird weather here–it was in the 90s during the last part of June but then when July hit, it got cloudy and only in the 70s which is cold for summer!

    I love the idea of a summer bucket list! One thing I really want to do this summer is dip-dye a pair of white flats–I think I saw the idea on Pinterest, but it seems like a fun and cheap DIY project.

    • Emily said:

      That’s so weird that it’s been gloomy and cool over there! I’m sure the heat is coming though…I remember the crazy heat waves you guys dealt with last year!
      And I think I saw the sam dip-dyed shoes on Pinterest! They’re super cute. If you try it, definitely let me know how it goes!

  5. Ellie said:

    I am excited to move home just for campfires! They are so much fun and often include s’mores… Can’t wait to see your youtube channel

    • Emily said:

      Ahhh..I bet! I rarely ever got to have campfires growing up but they’re so much fun!

  6. supercute!! that youtube thing seems to be going well. so you might be able to cross that out sooner than you think!! ps. is this your handwriting? or computer generated? haha because it’s gorgeous! and spending time with the sibling and doing just about nothing and everything is the best ever! glad you got to spend time with her!! 🙂

    • Emily said:

      It’s definitely looking that way! I’m just trying to acquaint myself with iMovie and get more comfortable with editing.
      And yeah, that’s my handwriting! haha. I’ve always been really OCD about it and have had people obsess over it my entire life. It cracks me up!

      • haha I’m the same way. everyone seems to like it .. but I don’t. it’s so messy looking to me. yours look like a font. Jelly! ha hope you had a great fourth!

  7. How fun! I definitely have a few things in mind but haven’t written any down. I had my first smore of the season last weekend and it was amazing. I forgot how good they are!

    • Emily said:

      It’s funny because I actually thought about your Fall To-Do list when I was making this one! I remember you having a lot of fun activities on there.

  8. Lisa said:

    Holy moly. I can’t even imagine the heat you have to put up with. I felt like dying and it was not even close to being that hot over here.
    Lovinggg that mexican meal! Looks so tasty.
    And I also love your bucket list! Totally something I’ve been working on putting together as well. I also want to start a youtube channel, but am kind of nervous about it!

    • Emily said:

      Please please please start a YouTube channel! I think everyone would love it!

  9. I love your Summer 2013 list! There’s something about crossing off on paper all of the things you want to accomplish makes you feels so good!

  10. Oh I love your bucket list! Smores are always a good idea. You have to try the flavored marshmallows Plush Puffs 🙂 Hope you had a great 4th of July Emily!

Leave a Reply

