walking with content

Remember when I committed to posting 3 times a week? Yeeeaahh, about that…

I apologize for another disappearing act. As much as I’d like to say it won’t happen again, I can’t guarantee it. Work occupies 40+ hours per week and my spare time is filled with friends, family, and that boy I mentioned…he came to visit me on Friday and, rather than going out for dinner, we decided to whip up spaghetti and have a movie night at home. Way cheaper and WAY more fun.

1002258_610479748976838_508954690_nWe were both super impressed with our cooking skills. But how can you really go wrong with pasta and bread? Seriously. I mean, we all know about my love affair with carbs. Paleo Shmaleo

Anyways, onto the topic of today’s post:

Being content. 

From the day that we’re born, the concept of constantly “improving” is instilled in us. We’re praised when we grow, excel, and accomplish something new. We’re taught to never stop searching for the next best thing. We have laser vision on the possibilities of tomorrow and refuse to accept what we have today. It’s inescapable. From money to technology to careers to fashion, we’re never content.

Okay, Emily, stop rambling…where is this coming from?

Well, one day last week I decided to go on a long walk. I had just finished working both jobs, the weather was gorgeous, and I was tired of being cooped up inside. So, I walked. I didn’t listen to music, I didn’t look at my phone, I just walked. For being in the middle of a huge city, it was unbelievably peaceful. At one point I stopped, closed my eyes, took a deep breath and thought “I’m content”.

It was a foreign thought, to be honest. I’ve never allowed myself to be ‘content’ before. To me it was considered failing and I know I’m not the only one who has fallen into that trap. It’s time for change.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying to stop growing and working towards your goals. Change is an important and exciting part of life and we should never be expected to settle. I’m just telling you that it’s okay to be happy right where you are. In a world that obsesses over the bad things in life, I challenge you to find and embrace the good. I challenge you to breathe, to smile, to love yourself, and to accept the people around you for exactly who they are today…tomorrow isn’t guaranteed.

IMG_1684Here’s to stopping and smelling the roses…

-Emily

4 comments
  1. Such a great message! It can be SO hard to be content in the moment in this crazy world but being stressed about things does no one any good. I think we just don’t give ourselves enough credit for the things we do but being content with our lives the way they are can really help us gain perspective and help us move forward in life.

  2. Ellie said:

    I totally get this post. Sometimes I’m always looking for the “next thing to do” as I am encouraged to do in my job. On the weekends, when I feel if I’m looking to accomplish the next thing, I take a second, take a breath, close my eyes and be in the moment. I ask myself what will happen if I don’t have something to accomplish? What do I want to do right now that will make me happy. Sometimes I just want to not think and veg. Other times I want to get something done. The point is I asked myself what would make me “content” in the moment. Today, it was getting an ice cream cone after work. 🙂 Cheers!

  3. It is sometimes hard for me, and I know many others, to take a break from constantly looking toward future goals and reminding myself that where I am now is also a wonderful place to be. Great post!

  4. agreed with this post. I sometimes need to tell myself to take a break and not fret over things that are little and don’t mean as much as I would think it will because where we are is already so great. ps love having dates that are so simple. does he know about your blog? 😉

Leave a Reply

