creatures of UNhabit

Humanity is so interesting, isn’t it?

Working in customer-service allows me to constantly meet and observe new people which is absolutely fascinating. Every person that I encounter has their own life, family, friends, beliefs, likes/dislikes, goals, aspirations, and routines <— which is exactly what I want to discuss today.

I think most people fall into one of two categories: those who let routine control their life and those who let life control their routine. Follow? Let me explain…

So many of us (myself included) love and rely on our specific routines. We’re creatures of habit and changing up our day-to-day life can be overwhelming. Personally, I spent years doing the same things, in the same order, every day. It was comfortable and I thought I was being “responsible” by living this way. Now, don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with schedules and routines- they’re necessary!- but we also can’t let that stand in the way of new experiences. When new opportunities present themselves, we should take advantage. When life changes, we must learn to adjust.

d0a366a5fbb00c2482f6bb80811faeb8The past week has been the perfect example of how far I’ve come in regards to my fear of change. My sister stayed with me all week and on Friday my mom, grandparents, uncle, cousin and an old high school friend came down for the weekend. I still worked quite a bit throughout the week/weekend, but other than that, my ‘routine’ was thrown out the window and I loved it. 

UniversalDay1 UniversalDay2I played, I socialized, I shopped, I ate, I only got one “formal” workout (my longest & fasted run ever!), I laughed, I smiled, I went with the flow…and you know what that all adds up to? Living.

Finding balance is crucial in every area of life, this one included. I’m beginning to discover that my personal bliss exists when I maintain a balance of freedom and structure. Thanks to my Type A personality, that’s not always easy, but the benefits are definitely worth the challenge.

So, find your own freedom and don’t live your life on repeat. I promise that you’ll find more joy within yourself and in the world around you when you constantly fill your days with something new.

Here’s to throwing our planners out the window every once in a while…

-Emily

18 comments
    • Emily said:

      Yeee! Really? Heading over to check it out now!

  1. I used to really struggle with this as well. Making new friends over the years and all my experiences have definitely helped tone down my Type A personality and need for routine and have resulted in a much more laid back me.

    • Emily said:

      You totally can! You’re already doing it. And the more you free yourself of your obsessions, the happier you’ll be. (:

  2. It’s always nice to look back and realize how far you’ve come, isn’t it? 🙂 This is definitely something I can relate to. I was trapped in a comfortable routine for -years- and any thought of deviating from it would case me massive amounts of anxiety. But after being forced to abandon my routine a handful of times, and realizing that it actually made life more exciting and enjoyable, I’m happy to say that I have no problem going with the flow.

    • Emily said:

      I dealt with a ton of anxiety too- no fun! But the more we challenge ourselves to step outside of our comfort zones and try new things, the easier it becomes. And you’re a perfect example of that! ❤

  3. Lisa said:

    I’ve struggled with this a lot in my past for sure, and it’s always amazing to step back and realize just how far you’ve come in life and in terms of living more normally. I remember I was living by such a strict schedule I literally couldn’t do anything unless it was planned at least 2 days in advance. How lame, right. Forgot about meeting people for a spontaneous hang out, I couldn’t let it happen. However, after challenging these thoughts it’s amazing the progress we can make! And you clearly have shown that!

    • Emily said:

      I was the same way, girl. It was horrible. But I thought I was being responsible by sticking with my schedule. Little did I know I was just missing out on a ton of fun opportunities!

  4. I used to work in customer service, but what you have learned about people appears to be much more positive than what I learned about people.

    • Emily said:

      LOL! I’ve definitely learned some negative things about people too but I try my hardest to find the positive.

  5. P said:

    Summer is the perfect time to let go of routines! But I think it’s healthy to leave some room for “unroutines” all year round. Unplanned moments are the best!

  6. I have always felt the need for routines, and as my mindset towards food and fitness became more disordered, I used those outlets to become more focused and I felt like I couldn’t let go of my routines. But I’ve found that trying new things, or being in new situations really helps me let go and just enjoy the moment!

    • Emily said:

      Exactly! I think that’s exactly what so many of us did. It’s amazing how freeing it can be to let it all go. (:

  7. I have a desk job and it’s definitely NOT challenging. I’m thinking of going back to school for medical or something that gets me motivated to get up in the mornings. But it’s so hard once you’re out. *sigh* love this post. relates so much to me in a different way.

  8. I definitely thrive off of routine but it is good to switch things up every now and then. And PLEASE tell me how you became such a fast runner. Share your secrets with me please 😉

  9. Love this Emily! Breaking out of your normal routine and comfort zone is SO necessary and something I strive to work on everyday! I am one of those people that can definitely get stuck in a rut so I constantly have to remind myself to mix it up and not get too routine. Sounds like you are making awesome strides in this area and I definitely agree that being spontaneous leads to a lot more enjoyment and fun!

Leave a Reply

