stop…double-time

Holy crap.

The funny part is- I thought I had a crazy schedule before I started working two jobs. HA. I had no idea.

I’m officially done with training at my 2nd job and am now working two part-times…which winds up being 40+ hours a week. It’s a little crazy but definitely worth it. Despite waking up at 4am four or five days a week (to open at Starbucks) and then heading over to my other job after that, I’m happy. I love the people I work with and feel lucky to have a steady income when so many people don’t.

I honestly don’t know what my future holds at this point and, for a planner and a perfectionist, that’s a foreign feeling. But I don’t mind it. I’m living my life day-to-day and going wherever the wind takes me. Isn’t that how it should be?

I promise I’ll be back with more steady blog-posts after I’ve settled into this new routine!

IMG_4426Here’s to enjoying every aspect of our lives…

-Emily

13 comments
  1. Beck said:

    I commend you! Now that I’m nearing the end of college I’m transitioning from working 10 hours a week to 20+ as a nanny and I always come home so exhausted after spending the day with kids, and I’m not even full-time! I don’t even beat myself up when I spend a day off at home all day anymore. I’m attempting to become financially independent myself and it’s been helpful following your posts. I can relate completely! Best of luck with your jobs!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!
      You’re working as a nanny? That’s awesome! I actually always thought that would be a really fun job. I’m glad you’re enjoying it! Working can definitely be exhausting but staying positive makes a big difference.

      PS: We really should try to get together soon!

      • Beck said:

        I love it so much! And yeah, we really do! We should get a vegan lunch sometime when you aren’t too busy!

  2. P said:

    40+ hours a week of work sounds exhausting, but good for you to look at the bright side! It’s true, so many people don’t even have one job, so you are incredibly lucky to have two AND that they are enjoyable. 😀

    • Emily said:

      Yeah- it’s a little crazy but I’m enjoying it! ❤

  3. Taylor said:

    So glad you are getting the hang of working that much, and although exhausting the money is definitely worth it!

    • Emily said:

      Most definitely! Pay days make it allll worth while. (:

  4. I’m glad that your liking your new routine! It’s hard to get used to a new job (or two), but sometimes being busy and productive (and making money) is better than being at home with not much to do!

    • Emily said:

      Exactly! I’ve never been a fan of sitting around so being busy is perfect for me. I hope you’re having fun getting settled into your new place! ❤

  5. I’m starting my new job next week (officially since I’ve been training for the past few weeks) and I know it’s going to be a wake up call since it’s about 35 hours a week, definitely the most I’ve ever worked. I’ll just be thinking about the money I’ll be making (and saving…) to help get me through!

  6. Ahhh, I’ve always wanted to work at Starbucks! Or some coffee shop. The atmosphere always seems so relaxing, despite coffee’s opposite effects…ha. The only thing is, I don’t think I could do the super early mornings. My shifts starting at 11:00 are early enough for me!

Leave a Reply

