the earth is my gym

First off, thank you all so much for your sweet comments on my hair! I could never have imagined that I’d love it this much. I feel lighter, physically, mentally, and emotionally and it’s absolutely amazing!

Now, I don’t know about you, but I’m a sunshine gal. If it was summertime year-round, I’d be happy. What can I say? I was born and raised in California and we love being outside in the warm weather!

For the past month I’ve been toying with the idea of canceling my gym membership for the summer. Not only is it a good 20-minute drive from my apartment, it’s expensive. And since I can do (almost) everything at my apartment or outside, it seems rather pointless. I do know I’ll miss the classes but there are spin/yoga studios and tons of hiking trails all within walking distance of me. But the truth of the matter is that my life just no longer revolves around exercise and I don’t need a gym anymore.

For example, I went to the park near my house earlier this week and created this 20-30 minute cardio workout. It incorporates sprints rather than steady-state running and the intervals will keep your heart rate up the entire time. Plus, it flies by since you’re not doing any one thing for longer than a minute!

SunshineSprintsThe circuit is 5 minutes long so you can repeat it however many times you’d like! I suggest 4-6 for a 20 or 30 minute cardio workout. Make sure you cool down and stretch afterwards to avoid injury or soreness and don’t push yourself if something feels uncomfortable. Of course, this could also be done in a gym- just hop off the treadmill for the walking lunches and jump squats!

What are your thoughts on gym memberships during the summer?

Here’s to sunshine and summertime…

-Emily

26 comments
  1. I’ve always found that outside exercise is so much more rewarding than sweating it out at the gym, especially in the summer when the weather’s so gorgeous. I don’t have a gym membership but I always find myself preferring to play tennis or go for a hike when summer hits rather than doing my usual indoor circuit and weight workouts. So I’d say cancel your membership, at least for the summer, and just get out and enjoy the sunshine!

    • Emily said:

      I agree! It feels so good to spend time outside, no matter what I’m doing. And most of the time I don’t even feel like I’m ‘exercising’.
      I’m definitely going to invest in a few more pairs of dumbbells so I have variety and can do strength training at home. We’ll see how it all goes! (:

  2. I feel the same way about gym memberships! In the summer, they’re just so pointless! I hardly ever use mine because I just want to be outside as much as possible! Especially living in LA, I’d be soaking up the gorgeous weather as much as possible! Jealous of all your access to hiking! I wish there were some trails closer to where I live 😦 Have a great weekend!

    • Emily said:

      Exactly! All of your outdoor runs inspire me so much! I’m definitely hoping to up my mileage a lot this summer. I’ve been wanting to for a while (because a half marathon is one of my goals this year) but haven’t cracked down and done it yet!
      And you would LOVE all of the hiking trails here. Hopefully you’ll be able to make another LA trip in the near future and we can explore some of them! (:

  3. P said:

    The only reasons I use the gym are for my new-found love of the Zumba classes, and initially for the raquetball courts. I could easily do my weight exercises outside of the gym, but having it all in one place is much more convenient for me. As for running, I am all for outdoor running over the treadmill, anyday :D!!!

    • Emily said:

      Heck yes! After I started running outside and hiking more often I’ve had a really hard time with treadmills. It’s just so boring and monotonous!
      And I don’t blame you for wanting to keep everything in one place. It definitely makes life simpler!

  4. I’m definitely all about getting outside and avoiding the gym at all possible costs. Yes, the classes are definitely nice, but I find that getting out there and enjoying beautiful weather is just so much more enjoyable, especially because it often doesn’t even feel like a workout and ends up benefitting you so much more mentally. And then you can just use the money you save from having a membership to go shopping and buy something nice 😉

    • Emily said:

      Exactly! Saving $50 a month would make a biiiig difference and I could put that money towards something more fun!
      I’ve been loving going out and hiking with friends as my “workout”. I get to spend time with the people I love, enjoy the outdoors, AND get in some exercise. Win win win. (:

  5. Nanna said:

    I second everything the other responders have said: outside exercise trumps the gym, especially during the summer. I think it’s a very smart idea of yours to cancel your membership for the summer, and it proves just how much thought you’re putting into budgeting- go you, Miss Responsible 🙂 P.s. I love love love your blog photo, but with the new cut and all, I reckon an update is needed 😉 As always, great post!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!
      And you’re sooo right. I’ll definitely have to update my photo asap. (:

  6. Taylor said:

    I love working outside when I can but with the weather in MN being so unpredictable I hold on to mine, I also really love the weight class. In your case though LA’s weather seems a little bit more under control and you would be saving some big bucks, at least for the summer!

    • Emily said:

      Yeah, definitely! I don’t blame you at all. I can’t even imagine what it would be like to have extreme weather like you do in MN.
      And I’m with you on weights classes- that’s why I’ve kept my membership for so long!

    • Emily said:

      Thats exactly what I’m thinking! I’ve basically kept mine solely for a few classes…
      And YAY! Thank you so much!

  7. dolcem said:

    I was just thinking this the other day. I have been feeling so sick of wasting gas (HELLO college kid budget..) to go to the gym. I just might do this! And being in the pretty sunshine makes for nice summer tans. Hollaaa.

    • Emily said:

      Yeee! Let me know if you do! I definitely think the money we’d save on gas alone would make it worth it. (:

  8. I have definitely been feeling urge to move my workouts outside, and I have often been doing just that on days when the weather is especially nice. It is also nice to wake up a little later on a leisurely Saturday and just head to the park for some fresh air and to get my heart rate up!

    • Emily said:

      Exactly! Not driving the 20 minutes to my gym definitely allows for more sleep in the morning. No complaints there. (:

  9. I’d miss my gym for the classes, but I definitely agree that working out outside is much more fun than in a stuffy gym! In Indiana we don’t get as lucky as you with as much sunshine and warm days ;), but on the sunny days I try to do my workout outside rather than in!

    • Emily said:

      Yeah- I love the classes! I’m hoping to get back into taking dance classes and finding a yoga studio though. That should satisfy my craving!

  10. Ellie said:

    I’ve thought about cancelling my membership but I signed on for six months and would rather just finish it out than pay to stop it. I also like to use the bike as a cross-trainer and heavy weights for lifting. I am also a sunshine girl! I cannot wait to move south when I graduate. The winters here are so hard on me! California sounds perfect 🙂

    • Emily said:

      It totally makes sense to keep yours through the contract you signed- I would do the same thing. And I’ll definitely miss using the bike as well. I’m hoping to invest in a real one soon!
      And YAY for moving to better weather! (:

  11. Lisa said:

    Love this my friend! If you don’t know, I don’t have a gym membership. Haven’t had one in a while now and I adore it. I’ve also never been more healthy and in better shape.
    It saves SO much money and time!!!Hope you’re having a great day lovely!

    • Emily said:

      Really? I didn’t know that you don’t have a gym membership anymore! That’s awesome girly. (:

  12. I’m thinking about getting a membership to the gym. but I doubt I will. so costly. need to get back on the workout train though. eeps. that workout looks great … I shall try it!

  13. I am so with you! I want to spend more time out doors when I workout!! I am going to try this! Thanks girl!

Leave a Reply

