kiddie smiles

mehIf I had to choose one word to sum up my week, that would be it. Meh. A lot of good, a little bad, and a dash of stress and anxiety all rolled into 7 long days. I keep reminding myself to focus on the positive and smile, even when it’s hard. Thankfully, I have amazing people in my life that make it a little easier.

When I was in high school we had a seminar every year called “Breaking Down The Walls”. It was a 2-day assembly that focused on getting rid of the barriers between students and realizing that no one is perfect, we all have feelings, and we’re all special in our own way. Needless to say, it was awesome.

I got to attend my junior year and it was one of the most eye-opening experiences I’ve ever had. There was one thing in-particular that has stuck with me since the moment I heard it…

Adults don’t smile enough. 

The average kid smiles 400 times a day. The average adult? 20 times. 

How sad is that? It breaks my heart to even think about. We should have a million reasons to smile every day but the majority of us rarely make it to 50. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want that.

babysmileLife is never going to go according to plan. There will always be something to stress about, there will always be pessimistic people, and there will always be situations that are out of our control. But succumbing to the negativity that surrounds us will only make it more miserable. Positivity is a powerful thing and it can drastically change your perspective on the people and events in your life.

So, despite the personal issues I’ve been dealing with, I’m going to keep smiling. It’s not always easy and there are definitely times during the day where I can’t completely hold it together, but I’m going to make damn sure that I squeeze in WAY more than 20 smiles, no matter what the circumstances.

I challenge you to do the same thing. Surround yourself with happy people, get out of your head, and let yourself be silly. Then count how many times you smile. And remember, they’re contagious.

Here’s to smiling like it’s going out of style…

-Emily

21 comments
  1. Every time I meet someone who seems “off”, as in, I get a bad vibe from them, it’s usually because they don’t smile!!! I agree that people need to smile more 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 And I’ve never counted how many times I smile in a day but I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s more than 400! 😉

    • Emily said:

      That’s so awesome! I need to channel some of your positive energy! (:

  2. pickyrunner said:

    That’s such a sad fact! This weekend, I’m going to focus on smiling. I know I don’t do it enough.

    • Emily said:

      Isn’t it?! That’s what I’m focusing on this weekend too. Enjoy every minute!

    • Emily said:

      Thanks, girly! Happy Saturday (now) to you too! ❤

  3. Oh my goodness my friend and I were JUST discussing this! We both nanny for different families, but we noticed just HOW happy our little kiddies are. Then we decided to hit a Zumba class and try to embrace our silly inner-child 🙂 Keep on smiling Emily!

    • Emily said:

      You’re a nanny?! How fun! Having such a close relationship with kids seems like it would be a constant reminder to let go and enjoy life.
      And yay for Zumba! I rarely ever take it because I have absolutely NO rhythm but it’s fun when I do!

  4. For reals?! 😯 Wow. Now that’s a sad statistic for sure. I try my best to keep a positive and uplifted attitude, but I’ll be the first to admit that I have my funks, and being happy is sometimes way easier said than done. Still, I’ve noticed that putting a smile on my face goes a long way into making me feel better… now if only I could remember to do it more often 😀 😀 😀 😀

    • Emily said:

      Same here, girly- some days I just don’t want to force a smile. But, when I do, things don’t seem quite as horrible anymore. Positivity is a powerful thing. ❤

  5. Taylor said:

    That is so sad, I love making people laugh so hopefully I am one extra smile on that sad little number.
    I hope this weekend you can take some time to do something that makes you smile 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Making people laugh is such an amazing trait to have. And thank you! I hope you have a beautiful weekend also. (:

  6. P said:

    I was just thinking about the topic of “children being happier more than adults” today!! I was literally thinking how it’s so easy for a child to smile so often and be happy, and how adults overcomplicate things! Haha.

    Love this reminder :)!

    • Emily said:

      Yay! I’m glad it resonated with you too. (:

  7. Ellie said:

    My job requires smiling at customers, which I used to resent if I wanted to remain in a sulky mood. However, I realized that I could use this “perk” in the job to propell myself to a better mood. I might start out the day moody…but evolve into a happier person because customer service is part of my job and a good attitude is contagious. I love being happy! 🙂 For me, misery HATES company!

    • Emily said:

      My job is the same way! And it’s actually been such a huge blessing. I’m able to use that as my “escape” when things get difficult. Being social always makes me feel better but, unfortunately, I tend to want to be alone when I’m upset. It’s something I’m constantly working on!

  8. That’s so sad that adults don’t smile as much as kids. No wonder kids are so much happier and so many of us want to go back to our childhood in some way or another! Starting my day out on a positive note always helps me maintain that good mood throughout the day and it makes me feel less stressed, even when I’m really busy!

    • Emily said:

      That’s so true. If I start my day of with something negative, my bad mood never really goes away. I think that’s why I like exercising or stretching in the morning, when possible!

  9. Have you ever heard of the show “If You Really Knew Me”? It used to be on MTV and it sounds exactly like what you said you did had your high school! I used to love that show and thought the idea of it was so amazing.

    • Emily said:

      I’ve actually never heard of that show- I’m going to look it up! It was definitely one of the best experiences I had during high school. (:

Leave a Reply

