work hard, rest harder

I’ve finally caught up on sleep after my Coachella adventure and the non-stop headache that I’ve had for the past 72 hours has subsided. Thank the Lord. So far, the weekend has been exactly what I needed. Sleep, relaxation, friends, cleaning, yoga, and finding out that I got the 2nd job I applied for! I can’t tell you how thankful and excited I am. Life is going to be hectic for a while but I’m ready for it.

Coachella

This weekend I haven’t wanted to do much of anything. I went to dinner and drinks with the girls last night and have spent the majority of my time catching up on rest and various other things before the new week begins. I know life is about to get crazy (especially with the addition of a 2nd job) so I’m embracing the opportunity to relax. <— FYI: that’s something I never used to do.

A year ago I was the girl that was convinced that every minute needed to have a purpose. I planned, scheduled, and obsessed over what I was doing and when I was doing it. If it wasn’t productive, it wasn’t part of my life. How ridiculous is that? Life is meant to be enjoyed and that means balancing work, play, and rest. It’s okay to work hard, it’s okay to play often, and if you want to spend a day being anti-social with Panera Bread and Gilmore Girls, so be it. (Not that I did that today or anything…)

Coachella TheCounter

PS: I finally updated my About Me page and set up a page for my workout routines! Check ’em out.

Here’s to doing what makes you smile…

-Emily

17 comments
  1. whoop whoop. sounds like you had a great time! and yay for not having to plan every second of your life!! 🙂 I know how that feels like. ❤

    • Emily said:

      It’s amazing! I hope you’re enjoying what’s left of your weekend. (:

  2. Ellie said:

    Emily I think you are my blonde haired twin! Yesterday I woke up from my nap planning on doing research on my computer for the night. However, something inside of me craved society! Therefore, I called my sister and we went out. I think we might have been together for an hour, but it was enough to make me feel so relaxed and rested. Sometimes for me, doing something fun with others is just as good recovery as I can get. I am still working on my theories about mental and emotional recovery in addition to physical recovery. Going out seems to be the best emotional recovery I have found. All I have to say is DRANKS ALL AROUND! 🙂

    • Emily said:

      I really do think we’re twins! It’s crazy. I can relate 100% to everything that you’ve experienced and are feeling.
      And I’m so happy to hear that you went out with your sister last night! I completely agree with you- sometimes getting out and letting go is the best medicine. I’ll drink to that! ❤

  3. Taylor said:

    I’m working towards become more spontaneous, I’m the same in the sense that I plan and calculate things too often. It’s good to know what you want but if it takes away from living in the moment, it isn’t worth it. So glad you got to have a great week and congrats on getting the second job!!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!
      And that’s awesome that you’re working on being more spontaneous as well. It’s not easy for those of us that are used to routine and schedules!

  4. pickyrunner said:

    Rest is so so so important. I struggle with that too. I like to have something planned for every moment of every day, but it’s not as fun that way! I’m glad you’re realizing that as well 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Amen! Life is so much more fun when we let go a little and just live. (:

  5. P said:

    Congrats on the second job! You’ll definitely be more busy, but at least more money is headed your way ;)!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! And yep- it’s going to make a huuuge difference financially! I’ll just have to sacrifice my sanity for a while. (:

  6. So fun that you hit up Coachella, even if it was to work. I bet the atmosphere was awesome. Yay for you getting your second job too! I agree, we schedule far too much in life! It’s time to sit back and take it easy 🙂

    • Emily said:

      It was a blast! I wish I could have stayed longer and enjoyed the event more but oh well- I’m hoping I’ll make it next year!
      And thank you! ❤

  7. Taking time for ourselves is so so important and I’m so glad you were able to do that this weekend, especially with a busier schedule coming up! I know when life gets stressful, I tend to neglect my ‘me’ time but even just chilling in front of a movie or grabbing a Starbucks or window shopping can really help me relax and it’s always a good reminder that we need to take a break from life sometimes.

  8. I seriously love your hair like that!! And panera + GG in one day = heaven. Best food and best show 🙂

Leave a Reply

