sleep-deprived & sweaty

It’s 11 AM and I just rolled out of bed. Yep- that’s coming from a girl who hasn’t slept in past 8:30 since high school. I spent last night working at a Coachella pre-party and didn’t make it back to LA until around 4 AM. The restaurant I work at was catering and a few of us were chosen to go work the event. It was insane but my friend Tara and I turned it into a little road-trip and had a blast. 

roadtrip

Thankfully I was thinking ahead and got today’s post written up ahead of time. Enjoy!

For most of us, it’s extremely easy to come up with an excuse to skip a workout. There are always a million things that have to be done and the most common cop-out becomes ‘I don’t have time’.

Believe me, I understand that. Our lives are crazy and finding the time to squeeze in a workout can be nearly impossible. But, sometimes we just have to get out of our own way. Spending hours at the gym on a daily basis is never going to be practical for most people and that’s okay. The important thing is to get your body moving, even if it’s just for 15 minutes in the comfort of your own home.

You all know how I feel about strict workout regimes and the importance of listening to your body- that should always come first. But, more often than not, it’s your brain that wants to skip the workout not your body. So, mind over matter. Make time for your health. It’s that simple.

At-home workouts have become my go-to lately and, with gas prices the way they are, my wallet appreciates it. I’m limited when it comes to equipment but that’s okay! I truly believe that our bodyweight is the most effective form of resistance anyways. It forces you to stay engaged.

This week I put together a pyramid workout that I thought was going to be fairly easy. WRONG. This little guy kicked my booty! But, it’s over in less than 15 minutes and there’s no equipment required!

Break&BuildPyramid

So, complete each exercise in order and then reverse it! I’m not going to lie, doing 40 jump-lunges and 100 squats left my legs screaming but I felt like a rockstar when I was finished. You will too!

And with that, I’m off to laze around for the rest of the day. Gossip Girl marathon, here I come!

Here’s to making time for you and your health this weekend…

-Emily

11 comments
  1. P said:

    Making your job work for you, in the way of a road trip, sounds like a pleasant spin on things! Will we hear more about it :)?

    I think it’s important to remember that even if we don’t log any hours at they gym, finding ways to stay active (walking to class, standing vs. sitting if the environment allows for it) can make up for “lost” gym time.

    • Emily said:

      Definitely!
      And I couldn’t agree more. Exercise is about SO much more than spending hours in the gym. As long as we get our bodies moving on a regular basis, we’re in good shape. (:

  2. Taylor said:

    How fun to work at an event like that!
    I sometime want to workout but don’t want to drive to the gym so the home workouts are perfect!

    • Emily said:

      Same here! Sometimes the drive to the gym is what keeps me from exercising so having at-home workouts on hand is always helpful!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! I’m glad. (:

    • Emily said:

      You got it! haha. They’re my favorite anyways. (:

  3. Sounds like an awesome workout! I can’t remember sleeping in past 11 in years either! Even when I go to bed late I seem to wake up at the same time. So frustrating! Haha

  4. adashofmeg said:

    The majority of my rest days are most likely due to my mind, not my body. But I’m ok with that 🙂

    • Emily said:

      There’s nothing wrong with that! ❤

Leave a Reply

