cheesy smiles

It’s amazing how life works. Broad statement, I know.

Right now I’m referring the wonderful balance that our universe seems to maintain. When things are falling apart and I’m not sure how much more I can take, I’m always granted with a few days that are filled with nothing but smiles. That’s what this weekend was. Not perfect by any means but it was productive, relaxing and filled with the people that I love. Just what the doctor ordered.

EnjoyTheMoment

I’m constantly forgetting to embrace the present moment. Society has trained us to always have our thoughts set on the future. We plan, organize, and change today in order to create a better tomorrow. But, tomorrow is merely a figment of our imagination. It doesn’t exist until it becomes the present.ย So, find the simple beauty and joy that surrounds you with every passing moment. Smile, laugh, and surround yourself with positivity- that’s where true happiness and bliss are found.

This weekend I worked, cleaned, studied,ย finallyย got errands done that I’ve been putting off for weeks (I’m no longer driving with one headlight!), and enjoyed a visit from my mom and sister on Sunday. Nothing particularly “out of this world” but I enjoyed every second of it. Simple smiles.

Unfortunately, I didn’t think to photograph most of the weekend but, if you don’t follow me on instagram (@missemilydryden), here’s what you missed:

Studying

GrilledCheese

 

I have a number of exciting posts planned for the next week or so. One of my best friends that recently graduated from FIDM is working on a beauty-related guest post which I’m super excited about. Yee!

Here’s to remembering how beautiful life can be…

-Emily

15 comments
  1. Lol I’ve been loving grilled cheese lately ๐Ÿ™‚ (assuming that’s what that sandwich is!)

    • Emily said:

      It was definitely a grilled cheese! (:

      I haven’t ordered one at a restaurant in years but it was exactly what I was craving so I did. Delicious!

  2. Ellie said:

    I totally know what you mean! Especially this time of year when it’s kind of gross out, I get going through the motions and cannot find out why I am in a funk. Then all of a sudden out of the blue something changes and life seems a bit brighter and tasks a little more managable and not so mundane. I have been trying to capitalize on these good feelings I get that motivate me to get things done. For example, if I feel more energy, I’ll use that to get a task I dread done, like folding the laundry I’ve stuffed into my drawers. After getting that task done, I usually feel even better which only serves to fuel a better day ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Emily said:

      Your comments are always so insightful. I love it. (:
      I tend to do the same thing when I’m having a hard time finding motivation. I’ve discovered that if I just let myself relax for a few minutes then I’ll quickly have the energy and determination to get a lot done. It’s when I push myself to hard for extended periods of time that I get completely burnt out!

  3. oh oh I’m excited for the beauty post!! but most importantly, good job at getting things done!! I need to clean up my room. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • Emily said:

      It should be a good post! I’m excited too.
      And I just cleaned my room & bathroom today (finally!) I feel so much better!

  4. I am a big proponent of stopping to appreciate the simple things in life that make up happy! Completely agree with everything you’ve said here! In fact, the little things are usually the most fulfilling things in life in my opinion. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. My weekend was pretty simple too, but I think I really enjoyed it because I got to spend it with my family as well. It’s crazy how the little things can make us so much happier than the ‘bigger’, more exciting moments in life.

    I’ve been loving unsweetened applesauce lately–it reminds me of my childhood!

    • Emily said:

      Right?! I hadn’t had unsweetened applesauce in forever but I went out and bought some right after I did. I’ve missed it!

  6. Oh! Oh hay! That’s me! ๐Ÿ˜€ lol! Working on it right meow actually. Weeee!

  7. There’s that grilled cheese sandwich again โค Seriously, I live for those simple weekends and simple moments. I tend to get way too caught up with worries and what not, and taking some time to step back and appreciate the little things in life makes all the difference.

    • Emily said:

      The grilled cheese was so delicious.
      And I’m the exact same way. It’s the little things that seem to bring the biggest joy…we just have to take a step back and embrace them. (:

  8. I love weekends were nothing too crazy takes place, but yet they are just what we need and perfect in that way. Also, FIDM!? I used to dream of going to that school (after watching The Hills of course..), haha.

Leave a Reply

