realistic rest

Remember when I set a schedule for myself to post every Monday, Wednesday and Friday? Fail.

The weekend was an absolute blur. I worked Friday, Saturday and Sunday and wound up pulling a double shift on Sunday to help out my manager. However, as miserable as that may sound, I’m not complaining one bit. Working and keeping busy has been the perfect distraction from everything else that’s going on in my life. Not to mention, getting my paycheck this month will make it all worthwhile.

Anyways, working 18+ hours combined with the time change left me exhausted and I couldn’t even fathom sitting down to write a post yesterday. Instead I slept in, worked (a very short shift), got a manicure and relaxed. I’ve always had a “go, go, go!” type of personality and spent most of my life thinking that taking time for myself was merely time wasted. I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Mental, emotional, and physical health come from a combination of productivity and rest. Society tends to forget that they’re equally important and I’ve fallen victim to that mindset time and time again. This weekend was my wake-up call. I was reminded that taking “me” time is not only something I should do, it’s something I need to do. And so do you. Bliss comes from finding peace in the world around you as well as within yourself and we’ll never find that if we don’t put ourselves first.

So, this week let’s all take a step back and breathe. Stop dwelling on yesterday and stressing about tomorrow and just be present in this beautiful moment. Listen to your mind and body and give them what they need. I know it’s easier said than done sometimes but making an effort is all that matters.

Oh, and after 2 straight days of rain and the week from hell I was able to enjoy this. Breathtaking.

rainbow

Here’s to finding the beauty in relaxation…

-Emily

8 comments
  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! said:

    18 hours of work in one weekend is insane! Glad you’re finally able to get some rest! Enjoy that beautiful cali weather and the rest of your week 🙂

  2. I know the feeling of working more than you had imagined, but the paycheck seriously makes it all the worth while 😉 And getting a manicure is the perfect way to relax in my opinion!

    • Emily said:

      So true! I can’t wait for this paycheck. haha. (:

  3. Good for you for taking a break and taking care of YOU! I used to be the same way, thinking that “down time” was time wasted when I could be doing something “productive” but really? The body/mind can only handle so much go-go-go before it just stop-stop-stops! 😉

    Gorgeous rainbow! And ALWAYS great to stop and take notice of the beauty around us! Hope your week has chilled out a bit! 🙂

    • Emily said:

      It’s so true! Our minds need rest just as much as our bodies do! ❤

  4. P said:

    The rainbow over LA looks so pretty! I love being able to relax after an exhausting week. Hope you were able to get plenty of rest!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! I actually did get quite a bit of rest this weekend- so nice!

Leave a Reply

