avoiding the unavoidable

I’m not going to lie, this week has been rough.

I’ve been dealing with a lot of issues (none of which I’m ready to share on the internet, for the time being) that have left me feeling stressed, anxious, overwhelmed and downright upset. From the day it started, 2013 has been pretty rocky. Within the first two days I lost my dog, Clifford, who had been my best friend for 10+ years and the downward spiral only accelerated from there. Not fun. 

I’m generally a really positive person. I try to see the silver-lining in every situation and keep a smile on my face no matter how much I’m hurting inside. But, some days that seems impossible. Some days I just want to curl up in bed with a cup of tea and escape into the world of a book for a movie for a few hours. Some days I just want to avoid the unavoidable. And you know what? That’s okay.

pain

I’ve spent most of my life convinced that I had to be strong 100% of the time. Weakness was a sign of failure and succumbing to sadness was inexcusable. I couldn’t have been more wrong. I constantly suppressed the way I was feeling and was never truly in-touch with my emotions. I thought that if I pushed them away for long enough, they’d disappear. Sorry Emily, it doesn’t work that way.

“Bliss” doesn’t mean that you’re going to be happy 24/7. It doesn’t mean that everything will always go your way or that the world will always make sense. But it does mean that you’ll have the ability to stare your hardships in the face, deal with them, and emerge stronger than you’ve ever been. The scary feelings of weakness, sadness, anxiety and stress are a part of life that we all encounter at some point or another. So, feel them. Remember what it’s like. It will only make the happy times more beautiful.

stopplanning

I don’t know what the future holds right now. That’s terrifying for someone who has spent their entire life planning a “perfect tomorrow”. But, I’m taking a step back and letting life take the rains. I’m embracing each moment for exactly what it is, good or bad, and allowing myself time to be upset.

On the bright side, the past few weeks have shown me just how many amazing people I have in my life. Going out to lunch with friends and venting like there’s no tomorrow or getting a positive text message from someone I love has been a huge source of light and positivity. So, thank you.

I don’t want this post to come off as complaining- not in the slightest. I’m not looking for sympathy or for someone to step in and magically fix everything. My goal is just to show you that no one lives a perfect life and we’re all dealing with things that other people probably wouldn’t understand. Is it fair? Probably not. Is it easy? Hell no. But, it’s for a purpose and it all plays a role in our overall bliss.

Plus, I’ve always got this little cutie to brighten my day…

LionelWorkout

Here’s to embracing the good and growing from the bad…

Emily

12 comments
  1. Sorry to hear you’re down, but like you said everyone has those days and it’s just a part of life! It’s not about what problems you face, it’s how you handle them, and you seem to be handling them well 🙂 Everything will be ok 🙂

  2. I know things will work out for you how they’re supposed to<3 Just remember that you have to have a bad day every once in a while to appreciate the good 🙂

    • Emily said:

      That’s so true. Thanks, Molly!

  3. Awww sorry to hear that things haven’t been so great, but your outlook on everything will make things so much better! Thinking positively always helps and it’s great to have people who are willing to listen and build you back up when you’re down.

    • Emily said:

      Having people there to support and encourage me has definitely made a huge difference. Thank you!

  4. Julia said:

    You are so self-aware and introspective, it’s really admirable! I can completely relate to planning the “perfect tomorrow”; it’s so difficult to finally lose all control and see what life has in store. You are so beautiful inside and out, and you should be more than excited to find out what the future holds for you!

    • Emily said:

      Aww…thank you! It’s definitely really difficult but we just have to step back and let life guide us rather than trying to control it. (:

  5. adashofmeg said:

    this doesn’t come off as a negative or complaining-type of post at all 🙂 I love the way you write girl! Always have! And I am so blessed to have you in my life! Great post! Sorry to hear about Clifford ❤ I love you so much. Him and Cuddles are together ❤

    • Emily said:

      Aww…they’re definitely together. Thank you, love!

  6. Sorry to hear you’ve been through a lot of rough times this year already. It’s inspiring how you’ve come to terms with accepting life not always working out according to our plans. That’s something I struggle with a lot wanting to be able to take control over what’s happening. Finding bliss in those small things in life – cuddling with Lionel, getting uplifting texts from friends – can help brighten life. Keeping my fingers crossed your troubles won’t last a lot longer!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so much. Your sweet comments definitely help too! ❤

Leave a Reply

