DIY: inspiration cork board

If you’re anything like me, you’ve made a zillion “inspiration boards” over the years. My first was probably in middle school and was covered in Abercrombie & Fitch logos, pictures of Hillary Duff or Mary Kate & Ashley, Green Day lyrics, etc. Needless to say, the things that inspired me when I was 13 don’t play much of a role in my life today. I’ve grown and, naturally, so have my inspirations.

The problem? I spend hours on end creating an inspiration board and then find myself replacing it with a new one 6 or 7 months later. While I don’t necessarily mind doing arts and crafts on a regular basis, my schedule typically doesn’t allow for such ventures. So this week, as I was prepping to start putting together a new inspiration board, I decided it was time to find a solution to my problem.

Introducing the Inspiration Cork Board!

Inspiration BoardNot only was this extremely easy to make, it was cheap! All I had to buy was the cork board ($7.95 at Target) and then I used materials that I found lying around my apartment (an old pillow case and leftover sparkly ribbon from halloween) to decorate it! A step-by-step guide on creating this is almost unnecessary but I’ll share it anyways. Hopefully you’ll be inspired to create one yourself!

What you need: 

DSC01554

  • Cork Board 
  • Fabric (I used an old pillow case)
  • Scissors
  • Stapler
  • Decorations (optional)

CorkBoardStep1_original

Step 1: Measure out your fabric

Step 2: Cut around the edge of the cork board

Step 3: Fold fabric around edges

CorkBoardStep2_original

Step 4: Staple corners of fabric 

Step 5: Decorate! 

InspirationCorkBoard3

So easy a caveman could do it!

While finding inspiration from the world around us is an amazing thing, it’s crucial that we always find it within ourselves as well. There is more strength, beauty and love inside of you than anywhere else and that’s where true inspiration lies. If you decide to create your own cork board, I’d love to see it!

Here’s to watching our inspirations evolve…

-Emily

1 comment
  1. I make an inspiration board at the beginning of each year and hang it in my closet so I can see it everyday when I get ready. I usually change mine up a bit as the year goes along and goals change, so I love the idea of having a cork board one!

Leave a Reply

