a journey begins

bliss:

1. Perfect happiness; great joy.

2. Something providing such happiness

Synonyms: felicity – beatitude – blessedness – happiness

It seems so simple, doesn’t it? Perfect happiness- two simple words that represent a feeling most of us spend our lives searching for. But, what does it mean exactly? How can one define happiness?

In short, we can’t.

Blissfulness is a matter of perspective. The things that bring me bliss won’t necessarily do the same for you and many aspects of the world and our daily lives are out of our control. Further, what makes me happy today may not apply next year, next month, or even next week.  So basically, despite what Dictionary.com may tell us, bliss is practically undefinable. Fabulous. 
But that doesn’t have to be a negative thing. There’s beauty in surprise, there’s excitement in change, and there’s power in knowing that you do have control over your “happiness”. It’s just a matter of embracing the fact that it’s unpredictable. That’s where this blog begins…

I’m Emily. A 20-something year old who has spent the last two decades on a constant search for my ‘bliss’. My Type-A personality had me convinced that, if I worked hard enough, I would find that happiness in a perfectly wrapped box somewhere. Not so. 
As much as I planned, scheduled, worked, and searched I always seemed to come up short- or so I thought. From the time I was 3 years old I had decided that I was going to be an actress and I followed the ‘perfect’ plan to make that happen. I went to the right school, took the right classes, networked with the right people, and worked on the right projects…never truly finding fulfillment. Don’t get me wrong, I love the entertainment industry and there may still be a place for me there. But, right now, my attention has been shifted elsewhere. And, as much as that makes me feel like a “failure”, that’s okay.

So, instead of searching for my bliss, I’ve decided to build my bliss. I’m going to listen to my heart, follow my instincts, and go where the wind takes me. I’m going to focus on gaining emotional, mental and physical strength. I’m going to stop trying to force happiness and just let it happen.

And I want you to join me! 

This blog will serve as my journal, of sorts, to share thoughts, sights, sounds, happenings, etc. From health & fitness advice (I’m currently studying with NASM to get my Personal Training Certification) to daily life updates, fashion trends, and beauty tips…I’ll spill whatever is on my mind. And, in the process, I hope to inspire you to build your own bliss- because it isn’t ‘one size fits all’.
It won’t be perfect and it won’t be predictable but that’s the point, isn’t it?

Here’s to the beautiful ride…

-Emily

17 comments
    • Emily said:

      Thank you! I am too. (:

  1. I am so happy you’re back to blogging Em! And great first post! It makes me excited to see what else you have in store. I can tell lots of surprises will be coming since I didn’t expect the transition you mentioned in this post! I am interested to see what other career path you are pursuing now! And like you said, you are in a no way a failure…in fact you are a success for not restricting yourself to one thing. Good for you for going out and finding what truly makes you happy. 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Aww…thank you, Kaila!
      The past few months have definitely been a whirlwind of change and dealing with the unexpected (some good, some bad). But, I’m determined to make the most of it and I’m excited to see where I end up.
      Thank you for all of your support and for keeping up with you amazing blog!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you, Molly! I’m so happy to be a part of your journey as well. (:

  2. Welcome back girl!!! You have been missed 🙂 I’m so excited to be part of your blogging world again and look forward to follow you on your journey! ❤

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! I’ve missed you all so much!

  3. P said:

    Welcome back Emily!
    I’ve been through some changes myself (switched to a self-hosted new blog from ‘Caloric and Crazy’).
    I can’t wait to read about what you’ve been up to and what you have planned :)!

    • Emily said:

      YAY! I’m so excited to start following your new blog. Congratulations on self-hosting!
      Adding it to my google reader right now (:

Leave a Reply

